New (To Me) Face and Eye Makeup

The last time Sephora had a coupon, I went a little crazy with my leftover gift cards and I got some pretty great stuff!

Tarte Be MATTEnificent Amazonian Colored Clay Matte Eye & Cheek Palette: Long name! I love this palette. It has six matte eyeshadows, two eyeliners (in powder form), and a neutral pink blush, all in a really nice case. The colors are all fairly neutral, minus the dark purple shade. They’re all really blendable and each color goes well with all of the rest in the set. The brush that comes in the palette works fine for the eyeshadows, but it’s a little tricky to use with the eyeliners. Other than that, I love this set! Unfortunately, it seems sold out a lot of places. Sephora doesn’t have it. I swear I just saw it at Ulta, but now it’s not showing up on their site, either.
Would I recommend this? Absolutely!

 

Eyeko Eye Do Liquid Liner: I heard great things about this eyeliner all over the internet. I’m always looking for the perfect black liquid liner, so I got this. It’s a dark, rich black color and the liner tip is pretty thin. However, the application is horrible on me. When I put it on, if I go over the line I just drew, it sort of re-picks up the liner and leaves me with a blank, smudgy spot. Not good. I tried it both with an eye primer and without, and it did the same thing. I’m not sure if it was just that my eyelid chemistry and this liner didn’t match, or if that’s the formulation of the product.
Would I recommend this? No.

 

Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush: Tarte is becoming one of my favorite brands. I love, love, love this blush, and I am not a huge blush person. (I put it on, but it’s not something I must collect.) This comes in a ton of different shades. It goes on sheer, yet there is a lot of pigment in it, and it’s very buildable. It looks very natural, which I prefer most of the time.
Would I recommend this? Yes!

 

So I got two good products, and one dud (that I thankfully did not pay full price for). Not bad! At least I know that Eyeko brand doesn’t go well with my skin. From now on I’ll be keeping my eye out for new Tarte eyeshadow palettes!

 

Sephora is having a sale coupon for VIBs starting today. Well, I went to purchase what was in my cart and the $10 Tarte set I tried to buy was suddenly out of stock! I can’t help but wonder if it was really out of stock, or if Sephora is going to “out of stock” some of the smaller gift sets in hopes that people spend more. I bought the Tocca Beauty Florence Travel Duo instead, (I’ve heard nice things about it) so I’ll review that on here when it arrives.

Leave a Reply

