Allure Fall Box 2013

I managed to snag one of these boxes when they were put up for sale. They went really, really fast!

The website stated that there are twenty-three items in the box. The price was $39.99 plus shipping and tax, so it came out to $53 and change. I figured $53 divided by twenty-three items made it roughly $2.30 per item. One of the women at website I frequent added up the regular cost of each item, and it came out to $359.94 if you paid full price for each item. (Credit for the math goes to gypsiemagic in this link.)

The Box:

IMAG0084

Most of the contents.

  • Schick Hydro Silk Razor – It has coupons on the back for razor refills, too!
  • Skintimate Shaving Cream – This is the kind I normally use, so I’m always glad to have more.
  • Sally Hansen Airbrush Legs – Yikes! I tried a bit of this and it is so dark and so yellow on me. I thought it was going to be a self tanner, but the package says it’s waterproof leg makeup. I guess you slap it on before wearing shorts or a skirt, and then wash it off in the shower. It looks awful on me, though!
  • Burt’s Bees Revitalizing Lip Balm with Blueberry and Dark Chocolate- I was surprised to like this lip balm. Burt’s Bees is usually so hard and waxy, but this kind feels nice on. The smell is kind of fake-chocolatey, but it’s not overwhelming.
  • Pixi Eye Bright Liner – The liner is supposed to be a nude shade that goes on your waterline.
  • Neutrogena Rapid Tone Repair – I’m a little scared to try this, but supposedly it works decently at getting rid of dark spots and old acne discoloration.
  • RoC Retinol Correxion Cream – An eye cream.
  • La Roche-Posay Redermic – I was pleasantly surprised to see a fairly expensive (for this box) item in the box. I won’t use it, but I can give it to a family member!
  • Cetaphil Daily Advance Ultra Hydrating Lotion – Cetaphil body lotion. I’ll try it and see how I like it.
  • Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash – This will probably go to a friend.
  • Simple Skin Care Hydrating Light Moisturizer – I’ve tried this before and for some reason my face didn’t like it. I can use the same brand’s cleansing wipes without a problem, though.
  • Neutrogena Triple Moisture Deep Recovery Hair Mask- I’m looking forward to trying this!
  • Carol’s Daughter Monoi Repairing Hair Mask – I’ve heard lots of great things about this product. I haven’t used too many hair masks before, so hopefully it works.
  • Redken Satinwear Ultimate Blow-Dry Lotion – This product sort of weighs down my hair, but hopefully I can find someone else who will like it.
  • Redken Argan Oil – This is a hair specific oil, although I’m not sure what exactly makes it that way. I guess I’ll have to read more about it.
  • Goldwell Gloss Style Magic Finish hairspray – I’ve never heard of this brand before, but at least the bottle doesn’t seem cheap.
  • KMS California Hair Stay spray – This seems to be an anti-humidity product. I haven’t heard of this one, either, but it has some decent reviews.
  • GK Hair Taming System serum- This was supposed to be Tibolli hair oil, but for some reason it got switched out to this. There’s no explanation in the pamphlet that came with the box.
The nail polishes.

The nail polishes.

  • Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure polish in Jungle Gem – I don’t really care for this color so much. It shows up a lot more green/gray toned in person than in the photo.
  • Sation nail polish in Happy Wine-y People – This color is super, super dark in person. Perhaps it would be good for a fall manicure.
  • Sally Hanson Salon Effects Nail Strips in Laced Up – I like these strips, in general. This pattern, however, verges on too tacky, even for me (and I love to coat my nails in all sorts of glitter and whatnot).
  • Sally Hansen Ouch Relief Wax Strip Kit
  • Sally Hansen Cuticle Eraser & Balm

 Conclusions: All in all, this is a LOT of stuff. I’ll give some of it away, or trade with friends for other things, but I do like the majority of it. For a little more than two dollars per product, it’s a pretty good deal, even if I don’t use everything.

Leave a Reply

