Hello Fresh Review, pt. 1

I got a coupon for Hello Fresh from my last Love With Food box. Hello Fresh is a food delivery service. You can choose how many meals you want for how many people (even numbers only, and only from their suggestions), and if you’d like the classic box or the vegetarian box. The service is expensive at $69 a week for three meals for two people. However, I think it’s more of a convenience thing than a value thing. You get literally all of the ingredients you need to make three pre-selected meals with, except salt, pepper, olive oil, and sometimes butter. All you have to do is cook everything. The box also comes with three instructional cards to tell you step by step how to make each dish. The week prior to each delivery, you go to Hello Fresh’s website and pick from five meals each week which three you would like (with the plan I chose). I will say, however, that I didn’t know this. I thought they would e-mail me to let me know when the choosing time frame was open, but I never got an e-mail, so I didn’t get to choose. That’s more my fault than anything, though. Apparently you just have to remember to do this on your own. Hello Fresh did call me the day my delivery shipped out, which I was not expecting. They just wanted to know if I had any questions or needed any information about the service.

I got my package today, and it was quite heavy. Everything inside was either very, very cold or still frozen. They package the items in this crazy insulated padding and add lots of frozen packs in there to keep everything cold. I immediately separated everything based on what items went with which meal, and put them in big ziploc bags to put in the refrigerator. However, Hello Fresh has already done most of that work for me. Each meal’s ingredients are pretty much already contained in one bag, and they’re labelled so that you don’t have to sit there and figure out which little packet of sauce goes with what meal. The tomatoes seemed firm and fresh. (Yes, I totally squeezed them a little to check.) I could smell the herbs even from inside the plastic bags. The meat and fish all looks fresh. Everything is already portioned out, so all I have to do is follow the instructions to cook it!

I received everything to make:

  • Chicken Parmesan Meatballs over Whole Wheat Pasta
  • Spicy Seasame Beef with Sauteed Asparagus
  • Tilapia with Orange Butter Sauce and Gingered Quinoa

All of it sounds good to me, minus the last one. I really, really don’t like seafood. Still, I’m going to make it and try it.

My only complaint so far is that the insulated padding smells dreadful. It smells like Raid bug spray, and the smell even stayed on my hands until I went to wash it off. Edited to add: I think that it might be the smell of the dill? I’m not 100% certain, though.

I’ll make another post about the finished meals to decide how I like it as a whole, but so far I’m pretty impressed.

Leave a Reply

