e.l.f. Beauty Bundle

The makeup company e.l.f. has a new bundle subscription service that just recently started. I was a little wary of signing up because I don’t really have much experience with e.l.f.’s products. However, I had a little extra money, so I went for it. The subscription costs $19.99 plus $6.95 shipping and handling every eight weeks. The website really didn’t give much information on what to expect in the bundle, aside from a few pictures of possible bundles.

First Impressions: The box is packaged really well. It comes with all of the products tucked into a reusable drawstring bag, and then that bag is in a box with lots of hot pink tissue paper. It felt pretty heavy when I picked it up (well, heavy for a box of makeup).

First e.l.f. bundle.

First e.l.f. bundle.

The Contents: There’s a lot of stuff in here!

  • Lotion Wipes in Vanilla & Coconut ($3)
  • Makeup Remover Cleansing Cloths ($3)
  • Eyeshadow “C” Brush ($3)
  • Angled Blush Brush ($3)
  • Baked Palette in “California” ($10) – This palette is really nice. The eyeshadows aren’t highly, highly pigmented, but I think with an eyeshadow primer and a decent brush they’ll look quite nice on. The colors are all relatively neutral with a shimmer to them. The compact and mirror are actually quite nice.
  • 3 piece Nail Polish Set ($3) in “Beach Party” – The colors in here are all relatively tame, as far as polishes go. There’s a salmon color, a hot pink, and a darker red.
  • Waterproof Lengthening & Volumizing Mascara ($3)
  • Glossy Gloss in “Pink Candy” ($3) – This is not nearly as horrible of a pink as the name suggests. It’s more of a neutral pink than anything.
  • Shimmering Facial Whip in “Pink Lemonade” ($1) – Again, this isn’t a horrible pink. I’m just not a big fan of shimmer all over my face.
  • Contouring Blush and Bronzing Powder in “St. Lucia” ($3) – I was shocked at the quality of this compact, but in a good way. It feels very sturdy.
  • Mineral Lipstick in “Party Pink” ($5) – As with the rest of the pinks in this set, the tone is more neutral than you’d imagine.

All together, there are eleven items in the box, so that comes out to approximately $2.45 per item, including the cost of shipping. That’s a pretty good deal, considering some of the items contain more than one element to them.

Conclusions: I quite like this box! The quality is a lot nicer than what I was expecting, honestly. It’s not amazing, but it’s good. I like that e.l.f. includes a card with information about all of the items as well as prices for each of them. The total value (according to e.l.f.) is more than what I paid for the box. This would make an excellent gift for someone just starting their makeup collection. I’ll probably get one more of these bundles, but I can’t see sticking with it long term, because I’m pretty specific about what makeup I wear. Still, it seems to be a good value and I actually like ten out of the eleven items I got!

Leave a Reply

