Love With Food July 2013

Love With Food is a “gourmet” food sampling subscription service. For $10 a month, they’ll send you a box of snacks. The website says they’ll send “8+” snacks in your box, and they’ll donate a meal to a hungry child with each box purchased. The theme for this month’s box is “Fun on the Boardwalk.”

My first Love With Food box was kind of disappointing, so I cancelled my subscription. Recently, I’ve been seeing other people’s reviews of boxes and the quality seemed to have improved, so I resubscribed.

First Impressions: I forgot how tiny the Love With Food boxes are! However, when I opened mine it was jam packed with stuff.

July's box.

July’s box.

What’s Inside?

  • Kukuraza Hawaiian Sea Salted Caramel Popcorn – This popcorn has a tiny bit of pink sea salt mixed in. I’ve never tried that kind of salt before, but together with the caramel it sounds really good.
  • NECCO Wafers – I’m not a big fan of these, but I know someone who is, so I’ll give them away.
  • Nature’s Bakery Strawberry Fig Bar – Think Fig Newtons, but a little bit better. I tasted one of these as soon as I got the box (I was hungry!), and it was good, but not great. They are a tiny bit on the dry side for some reason.
  • Angel Mint All Natural Orange Salt Water Taffy – These are tasty, if you’re a salt water taffy fan.
  • Lord Nut Revington Rebel Mary Peanuts – What a name for a company! I guess it gets your attention, though. These peanuts are flavored like a spicy bloody mary drink.
  • Vermont Smoke and Cure BBQ Beef Stick – The information for this product states that it’s made from beef free of antibiotics and preservatives.
  • Twangerz snack toppings- Margaritas would definitely be spiced up by using these little packets of salt on the rims! I got packets in Lemon Lime, Lime, Chili Lime, and – get this- Pickle flavor!
  • Uncle Henry’s Handmade Sourdough Pretzels – These are hard pretzels, and they’re relatively large. They survived the shipping quite well!
  • $25 Hello Fresh coupon/voucher – This gives you $25 off of your first order with Hello Fresh. It’s a food delivery service that sends you everything you need to make a meal, including meat (there’s also a vegetarian option). I’ve been wanting to try it, but it’s really expensive. It’s $69 for three meals for two people. However, they literally send you everything you need, including spices, vinegar (or similar items), all of the vegetables, etc., so maybe it’s worth the money in exchange for time saved? Since I had the coupon, I’m giving it a try.

All in all, I really like this box. The quality of the box has definitely gone up from when I previously subscribed. Although some items (like the fig bar) don’t really go with the theme, they all somehow still go together. To me the theme feels more like “snacks for a night of drinking.” I am for sure keeping this subscription for next month!

Leave a Reply

