Birchbox: A Rant and a Few Unrelated Questions

Since many people subscribe to Birchbox, I thought I would give my impression here, even though I’m not reviewing a specific box. I apologize in advance to all of you that love Birchbox, because I’m just not one of you.

I subscribed to Birchbox for several months last year. At first it was exciting, since it was the first subscription service I used. Every month after opening the box and being disappointed, I’d think, “I’ll give it another month. Maybe I just got a dud box. Everyone else’s pictures on their blogs look so great, so I must have gotten the boring version of the box!” The quality declined more and more until I became fed up enough to cancel. I don’t meant to sound like a conspiracy theorist, but it’s a little shady when bloggers get the”good” boxes for free and give them glowing reviews when the rest of us who paid for the service get the crappy boxes.

Birchbox used to use the words “deluxe samples” on their website, but I noticed that they’ve changed the wording a little. I received so many foil packet samples and tiny perfume samples that you can get for free at most department stores. Why should I pay for that? Added to that is the fact that none of the boxes had any sort of cohesive theme, even though the company tried to claim a theme for each one. It looked like someone literally picked random items and threw them in a box. One time, I got a box of Band-Aids, some foil samples, one hair tie, and a granola bar. Really?! Granted, it’s only $10 a month, but that just seems like a waste of money. I’m not a fan, and I won’t ever subscribe again unless they really step up their samples game and stop giving out the foil packets.

Onto the unrelated questions:

Since I’m new to the blogging world, some things confuse me.

Why do random “people” leave me comments that really have nothing to do with my posts? Where do they even find me? I assume they go through the tags and find blogs that way, but it’s really weird, especially when the spam filter doesn’t catch them. Then if I decline to post their comment, I’m either blocking spam (which is good) or being rude to someone by assuming that they are spam (which is bad). Dilemma!

Leave a Reply

